Organ solo (Advanced) | Shaw Music ∙ $10.00

  • Tune: “Sine Nomine”

Ralph Vaughan Williams’s powerful tune is set as a five-movement partita, each movement based on a line from the hymn:

  • I: “Thy name, O Jesus, be forever blest. Alleluia! Alleluia!”
  • II: “Thou wast their rock, their fortress, and their might”
  • III. “We feebly struggle, they in glory shine”
  • IV. “Sweet is the calm of paradise the blest”
  • V. “But lo! there breaks a yet more glorious day”

Awarded 2nd place in the 2009 Detroit AGO Marilyn Mason New Organ Music Competition.