Timothy Shaw awarded 2019 Raabe Prize

Shaw Music is excited to announce that Timothy Shaw has been awarded the 2019 ALCM Raabe Prize for Excellence in Sacred Composition for his choral anthem, “Jesus, Refuge of the Weary.” The Raabe Prize is awarded every two years for a single musical work, published or unpublished and written within the last five years, that reflects a larger history of excellence on the part of the composer. Previous winners include Richard Proulx, John Ferguson, David Cherwien, Dan Forrest, and Zebulon Highben. “Jesus, Refuge of the Weary” will be performed at the ALCM National Conference, June 24-27, in Portland, Oregon, where the award will officially be presented.

Visit ALCM’s website here.

Read the official press release here.

Listen to and order “Jesus, Refuge of the Weary” here.

Marilyn Mason New Organ Music Competition

I am pleased to announce my Partita on “For All the Saints” won 2nd place in the Marilyn Mason New Organ Music Competition, sponsored by the Detroit chapter of the American Guild of Organists. The finalists were selected in March, and the winners were announced following a performance (and audience vote) on June 28, with Lynne Davis playing the finalists’ compositions. Contact me if you would like to obtain a copy of the score.