New Timothy Shaw Piano Albums Available on Streaming Sites

Press Release from ECS Publishing Group

ARSIS Audio, a division of ECS Publishing Group, is excited to announce the release of two new albums featuring piano music composed and recorded by Timothy Shaw. The albums, Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing and Nativity Scenes, offer listeners a new take on a collection of familiar hymn tunes and Christmas carols that can inspire throughout the year.

In each recording, Shaw presents a fresh, sometimes surprising interpretation of a well-known hymn tune that invites the listener to consider these melodies in a new light. Reflective and contemplative, the piano arrangements are particularly suited for performance in worship services, and the recordings make for stirring listening on their own.

Nativity Scenes offers a selection of well-loved Christmas favorites such as “Silent Night” and “O Little Town of Bethlehem” and carols that might not be as familiar, such as “The Wexford Carol” and “Sing We Now of Christmas.” Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing is a collection of hymn tunes suitable for the worship service or for personal reflection. The album includes arrangements ranging from the majestic “All Creatures of Our God and King” to a series of exploratory variations on the lively “Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee.” The variety of textures and interpretations on these albums provide a stimulating listening experience for any time of the year.

Timothy Shaw’s award-winning music is a familiar sound to many church musicians through his many sacred music publications. As a composer he has received various honors, including the ALCM Raabe Price for Excellence in Sacred Composition. Keyboard collections of the arrangements recorded on the albums are available for purchase from MorningStar Music for those wishing to explore the music further. The digital albums will be available as an ARSIS Digital Release on all major streaming services.

Nativity Scenes published by MorningStar Music

MorningStar Music has published Timothy Shaw’s first book of Christmas piano music, Nativity Scenes: 12 Carols for Piano. This creative collection of favorite carols reflects the gentler side of Christmas and will work well for meditative services such as Blue Christmas, memorials, or during communion. Useful as reflections, preludes, or in some cases as expanded introductions, many can be combined with other settings to create a suite of carols. The book also received an Editors’ Choice designation from JW Pepper.

Love Came Down at Christmas published by MorningStar Music

MorningStar Music has published Timothy Shaw’s anthem, “Love Came Down at Christmas” (Unison, Treble Instrument, and Piano, with opt. Descant). A simple but lovely original melody fits the Rosetti text beautifully, making this a sure winner for your upcoming Christmas season. Adult or youth choirs will find this an effective anthem for the season, requiring little rehearsal for maximum effect. An optional descant blends nicely. Consider also for a solo opportunity. The piece also received an Editors’ Choice designation from JW Pepper.

Jesus Christ the Apple Tree published by Augsburg Fortress

Augsburg Fortress has published Timothy Shaw’s anthem, “Jesus Christ the Apple Tree” (Unison/2-part, keyboard, opt. treble instrument). Beauty and flexibility abound in this strophic setting of the beloved Apple Tree Carol. Written in a minor key with a pensive mood, the unison stanzas could be shared by children, soloists, or choir sections. Optional vocal harmony and instrumental obbligato add further texture options. While not limited to the Christmas season, this is a great addition to your next Lessons and Carols service or to sing during Christmas worship.

Flute Music for Worship (Peter Hilliard) added to the Shaw Music catalog

While under quarantine in 2020, Peter Hilliard wrote ten hymn settings for flute and piano to be performed during filmed segments for virtual church services. In each expertly crafted arrangement, these beloved hymns are treated with reverence and invention, ranging from acrobatic virtuosity to peaceful lyricism. With titles spanning the church year, this collection provides preludes, postludes, and offertories for all seasons.

  • All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name
  • Be Thou My Vision
  • Crown Him with Many Crowns
  • God Leads Us Along
  • God Will Take Care of You
  • Great Is Thy Faithfulness
  • How Firm a Foundation
  • I Need Thee Every Hour
  • Thou Didst Leave Thy Throne
  • ‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus

Preview pages from the score and listen to sample recordings here.

Publishing (MorningStar) update 10.23.2020

MorningStar Music will publish Timothy Shaw’s solo piano book, Nativity Scenes: 12 Carols for Piano, which includes carol settings for use throughout the Advent and Christmas seasons. Intentionally short and written at an easy to moderate level, these arrangements will appeal to pianists of all skill levels, and audiences will be engaged by the unique presentations of well-loved carols.

  • The Angel Gabriel from Heaven Came
  • Angels from the Realms of Glory
  • Away in a Manger
  • Bring a Torch, Jeanette, Isabella
  • Go Tell It on the Mountain
  • O Little Town of Bethlehem
  • On Christmas Night
  • Prepare the Royal Highway
  • Savior of the Nations, Come
  • Silent Night
  • Sing We Now of Christmas
  • The Wexford Carol

This collection is scheduled to be published as part of MorningStar’s Fall 2021 release.

Piano Prelude Series vol 4 published by Concordia

Following the successful Hymn Prelude Library series for organ, Concordia has released a new collection of piano preludes based on the hymn tunes found in Lutheran Service Book. This collection features newly composed pieces by dozens of composers who write in a variety of styles and harmonizations. The pieces are useful as preludes, postludes, music at the offering, for introductions, and during distribution, as well as for those who play hymns at home. The durable wire binding ensures that each page lies flat against the music stand. Piano Prelude Series vol 4 (preludes for tunes starting with the letters ‘F’ and ‘G’) includes Timothy Shaw’s setting of {Gelobet seist du} (We Praise You, Jesus, at Your Birth).

Publishing (MorningStar) update 4.3.2020

MorningStar Music will publish Timothy Shaw’s newest Christmas anthem, “Love Came Down at Christmas,” on a picturesque text by Christina Rossetti. The original music is scored for Unison Choir (with an optional descant on the final stanza), Piano, and optional Treble Instrument. This piece is scheduled to be published as part of MorningStar’s Fall 2021 release.

Christ’s Nativity (Peter Hilliard) added to the Shaw Music catalog

From Peter Hilliard comes this dynamic musical offering on a text by 17th-century metaphysical, Welsh poet Henry Vaughan. A simple melody is embellished throughout to underscore images from the text, and a horn obbligato sounds the clarion call (“Awake!”). Invest time rehearsing this breathtaking number with your choir—it is well worth the effort. This piece, for SATB choir and horn, won the 2008 Welcome Christmas Carol Contest. Preview the score and listen to an excellent full-length recording here.

Silent Night, Holy Night (arr. Peter Hilliard) added to the Shaw Music catalog

Indulge in the nostalgia of the holiday season with this beautiful setting of a favorite carol, expertly arranged by Peter Hilliard. Easy to learn, yet full of harmonic and melodic interest, this is sure to become a favorite of choir and audience alike. Program this as the closing number for this year’s Christmas concert or Christmas Eve service. Preview the score and listen to a fine demo recording here.