New Timothy Shaw Piano Albums Available on Streaming Sites

Press Release from ECS Publishing Group

ARSIS Audio, a division of ECS Publishing Group, is excited to announce the release of two new albums featuring piano music composed and recorded by Timothy Shaw. The albums, Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing and Nativity Scenes, offer listeners a new take on a collection of familiar hymn tunes and Christmas carols that can inspire throughout the year.

In each recording, Shaw presents a fresh, sometimes surprising interpretation of a well-known hymn tune that invites the listener to consider these melodies in a new light. Reflective and contemplative, the piano arrangements are particularly suited for performance in worship services, and the recordings make for stirring listening on their own.

Nativity Scenes offers a selection of well-loved Christmas favorites such as “Silent Night” and “O Little Town of Bethlehem” and carols that might not be as familiar, such as “The Wexford Carol” and “Sing We Now of Christmas.” Come, Thou Fount of Every Blessing is a collection of hymn tunes suitable for the worship service or for personal reflection. The album includes arrangements ranging from the majestic “All Creatures of Our God and King” to a series of exploratory variations on the lively “Joyful, Joyful We Adore Thee.” The variety of textures and interpretations on these albums provide a stimulating listening experience for any time of the year.

Timothy Shaw’s award-winning music is a familiar sound to many church musicians through his many sacred music publications. As a composer he has received various honors, including the ALCM Raabe Price for Excellence in Sacred Composition. Keyboard collections of the arrangements recorded on the albums are available for purchase from MorningStar Music for those wishing to explore the music further. The digital albums will be available as an ARSIS Digital Release on all major streaming services.

Nativity Scenes published by MorningStar Music

MorningStar Music has published Timothy Shaw’s first book of Christmas piano music, Nativity Scenes: 12 Carols for Piano. This creative collection of favorite carols reflects the gentler side of Christmas and will work well for meditative services such as Blue Christmas, memorials, or during communion. Useful as reflections, preludes, or in some cases as expanded introductions, many can be combined with other settings to create a suite of carols. The book also received an Editors’ Choice designation from JW Pepper.

Jesus Christ the Apple Tree published by Augsburg Fortress

Augsburg Fortress has published Timothy Shaw’s anthem, “Jesus Christ the Apple Tree” (Unison/2-part, keyboard, opt. treble instrument). Beauty and flexibility abound in this strophic setting of the beloved Apple Tree Carol. Written in a minor key with a pensive mood, the unison stanzas could be shared by children, soloists, or choir sections. Optional vocal harmony and instrumental obbligato add further texture options. While not limited to the Christmas season, this is a great addition to your next Lessons and Carols service or to sing during Christmas worship.

Publishing (MorningStar) update 10.23.2020

MorningStar Music will publish Timothy Shaw’s solo piano book, Nativity Scenes: 12 Carols for Piano, which includes carol settings for use throughout the Advent and Christmas seasons. Intentionally short and written at an easy to moderate level, these arrangements will appeal to pianists of all skill levels, and audiences will be engaged by the unique presentations of well-loved carols.

  • The Angel Gabriel from Heaven Came
  • Angels from the Realms of Glory
  • Away in a Manger
  • Bring a Torch, Jeanette, Isabella
  • Go Tell It on the Mountain
  • O Little Town of Bethlehem
  • On Christmas Night
  • Prepare the Royal Highway
  • Savior of the Nations, Come
  • Silent Night
  • Sing We Now of Christmas
  • The Wexford Carol

This collection is scheduled to be published as part of MorningStar’s Fall 2021 release.

Publishing (Augsburg Fortress) update 2.11.2020

Augsburg Fortress will publish Timothy Shaw’s original choral setting of “Jesus Christ the Apple Tree” (Unison or 2-part, keyboard, violin) as part of their Fall 2021 release. “Jesus Christ the Apple Tree” is an anonymous text full of vivid imagery. This original choral setting achieves timbral variety using minimal forces. The anthem is appropriate during Advent and Lent, as well as throughout the year.

Piano/Organ Repertoire for Advent/Christmas

It’s never too early for musicians to begin thinking about the holiday season. Read Timothy Shaw’s article on Prelude Music PlannerChristmas in July: Piano/Organ Repertoire for Advent/Christmas. This includes suggestions of 10 different collections, as well as links to free downloads of some classical pieces (through IMSLP).

Hail to the Lord’s Anointed published by Beckenhorst

Beckenhorst has published Timothy Shaw’s SATB anthem, “Hail to the Lord’s Anointed” (for Advent, Christmas, or General use), which received an Editors’ Choice Award designation from JW Pepper. You can view sample pages and listen to an excellent demo recording here. The piece is described this way:

A strong musical and textual statement, useful for any occasion of worship all year but especially powerful on Christmas morning. Scored for SATB choir and piano, this new setting of a time-honored hymn of praise is accessible to most church choirs.

Hymn Prelude Library vol 11 published by Concordia

Concordia Publishing House has released volume 11 of the 12-volume series Hymn Prelude Library (based on Lutheran Service Book), containing hymn tunes that begin with ‘T’, ‘U’, and ‘V’. This volume includes Timothy Shaw’s setting of the tune “Union City” (“If Christ Had Not Been Raised from Death“), by Phillip Magness (Cantor at Immanuel Lutheran Church in Broken Arrow, OK and composer with Liturgy Solutions). Other contributors to this volume (edited by Kevin Hildebrand) include Charles Callahan, Benjamin M. Culli, and Kristina Langlois. You may pre-order the book now, and it will be available on June 30, 2017.